September 28 – November 9: Remember to Remember

in the Walt Meade Gallery
of the Roxbury Arts Center
5025 Vega Mountain Road
Roxbury NY
Opening Reception: Saturday, September 28, 4:00p
Sponsored by Roxbury Wine & Spirits

A group exhibit curated by Nat Thomas exploring works that connect us to a specific time and a place, a vivid reminder of our own impermanence

Sending up Stars, Karen Butcher

“The genesis of this exhibit was my fascination with roadside shrines that commemorate vehicular fatalities,” says Nat Thomas, curator and exhibiting artist of Remember to Remember. “Even without any details of what happened, you pause and reflect. Some are simple crosses; some are brightly colored or festooned with plastic flowers or a laminated photo of someone’s beloved. All are made by hand; all made as part of the grieving process. It’s why we make such things that interests me. Commemorative art can be a talisman, a keepsake, a rallying banner, a shrine. It can be a deeply personal expression or geared to a wider audience. Making this kind of art is therapeutic, comforting, centering, sobering and freeing. Experiencing this kind of work in the community connects us to a specific time and a place, and is a vivid reminder of our own impermanence.”

“Art has long been used as a kind of healing therapy” says Samantha Nick, Grants & Community Coordinator for the Roxbury Arts Group. “This exhibit puts the reality of grief and remembrance in to a tangible form for an observer to see and experience.”

Artists whose work is included in the upcoming Remember to Remember exhibit include Doug Bourgeois, Karen Butcher, Ed Chen, Neil Driscoll, Arnold Dube, Jeanne Ellsworth, Amy Masters, Gary Mayer, Elizabeth Nields, Alan Powell, Ann Schwed, Anna Sea, Carla Shapiro, Marilyn Silver, and Nat Thomas.

The 2019 Roxbury Arts Group gallery series is sponsored by Roxbury Wine & Spirits. All programs offered by the Roxbury Arts Group are supported by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Gov. Andrew Cuomo and the NYS Legislature, the A. Lindsay and Olive B. O’Connor Foundation, the Robinson Broadhurst Foundation, The Tianaderrah Foundation, Delaware County Office of Economic Development, The Delaware National Bank of Delhi and by the generosity of business sponsors and individual donors like you.